1:08 Soundproofing & Folksy Roots

Hello again!

It’s been quite awhile since my last post, and recently, I’ve been wanting to come back and write on a post featuring my favorite “genre” – Indie FolkThe clip above features an artist by the name of Gregory Alan Isakov, whom I have written about before. Over time, I’ll keep coming back to his music as a sort of leveling off point. After going through extremes with other electronic or alternative genres, it’s nice to come back to a style of music that’s so raw. The beautifully shot video above for his track Big Black Car”, is a good example of the honest nature of not only his music but of indie folk as a whole.

This next track, and my favorite, is from his 2009 release The Empty Northern Hemisphere entitled “If I Go, I’m Goin”.

I strongly suggest you check out more of his music…but in the meantime…

One of my favorite new artists, Bahamas, whose music may stretch on “indie folk” reminds of a “Feist aesthetic”. Harmonies abound and contain simple guitar riffs, as evident in the video above for “Lost In The Light” off of the new album Barchords. Go check out Afie Jurvanen and his awesome tunes.

And last but not least, if you’ve read the blog in it’s entirety, first of all “thanks”, but secondly you know how big a fan I am of Justin Vernon and Co. Again, while not as folksy as Isakov, I believe this still will hold some weight in a folksy debate. (Rhyme). And so in honor of the Grammy wins, here is a new 25 min set that debuted online courtesy of his Jagjaguwar label. Enjoy!

Thanks for reading/ watching. Stay folksy, my friends.

Spencer

Comments
One Response to “1:08 Soundproofing & Folksy Roots”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] who is apparently also a big Justin Vernon fan–and who featured his new release in the same post as a Gregory Alan Isakov song. Very cool, Spencer. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]



Leave a Reply

